Monday, January 11, 2010


I WAS PLEASED TO FIND THE FOLLOWING ANNOUNCEMENT ON THE WEBSITE OF THE RECENTLY ORGANIZED LEATHER HALL OF FAME. With a goal of preserving our leather history, this is an organization worthy of our attention and support.

Satyrs, DeBlase and Olson/Morrison Selected for Leather Hall of FameSatyrs, DeBlase and Olson/Morrison Selected for Leather Hall of Fame
Induction Ceremonies at CLAW 9 on April 25, 2010

The Board of Governors of the Leather Hall of Fame (LHOF) is pleased to announce the 2010 inductees: The Satyrs MC; Tony DeBlase; and Frank Olson/Don Morrison (elected as a couple).

The Satyrs MC was founded in 1954 in Los Angeles and is the longest continuously running gay organization in America, leather or otherwise. The Satyrs was formed by leather-clad bikers interested in sex during an era when that sort of sexual expression often resulted in arrest. From the beginning, the Satyrs rode to national parks for camping and sex with men, and they still host their annual Badger Flat Run, now in its 49th year. Many clubs and organizations around the world can trace some part of their roots back to the Satyrs or the bylaws they adopted back in 1954. Member of the Satyrs stood up to the Los Angeles Police Departments raids of the 70s, eventually resulting in the end of those raids and entrapments. The Satyrs continue to be a very active club with as bright a future as they have a notorious past.

Frank Olson and Don Morrison were among the most important founders of the leather scene in New York City. They were famous for many parties, at that time the major leather social events, both in New York City and on Fire Island. Frank was the principal person behind the opening of the Eagles Nest, for many years New Yorks premier leather bar. During the Worlds Fair that took place in New York in 1964/5, the NYPD kept closing gay bars, including the leather bars. Frank kept finding new places as old ones were closed, leading the community like Moses through the social wilderness, until the police pressure abated. He was also a founding member of the gay bike club scene in New York. Frank and Don are still together and living in Pennsylvania.

Tony DeBlase was perhaps the most transformational figure in the history of the leather community. He developed the contest and demonstration schedule at the Chicago Hellfire Clubs Inferno, and he helped export those lessons to other, less experienced SM clubs. He was the Founding publisher of DungeonMaster magazine, the best and most extensive published source of SM technique, much of it written by DeBlase himself. He was the publisher of Drummer magazine during its peak years from 1986-1992. He was a co-founder of the Leather Archives & Museum where he served as an officer and developed the Leather History Time Lines. He wrote leather fiction under the name Fledermous, and was a frequent lecturer and workshop leader. In 1989 he designed the Leather Pride Flag. He won multiple awards and was a mentor to many. Tony died in July, 2000.

The three runners up in the 2010 voting were publisher/writer/filmmaker Leonard Burtman, New York scene pioneer Bob Milne, and Mr. S. founder Alan Selby.

LHOF was formed to honor and preserve the legacy of the extraordinary men and women who have significantly impacted and shaped the history of the Leather/BDSM communities worldwide since 1950. By publicly acknowledging and honoring those individuals, it is LHOFs mission to preserve the history of our communities, to pay respect to the leaders and trailblazers who came before us, and to establish a permanent and unbiased resource for anyone interested in leather culture to learn about the people who built its foundations and guided its evolution. The Board of Governors of the LHOF represents a diverse, pansexual cross-section of the some of the leather communitys most widely-respected and longest-standing academics and activists. LHOF has gone to great pains to insure that the internal voting process is confidential, professional and free of politics or cliquishness. Nominations can be made by anyone in the community. The chief criterion for eligibility is that nominees have made substantial contributions to BDSM/leather dating back at least 15 years. Nominations are accepted throughout the year at The annual deadline for nominations is October 15th. The Board of Governors carefully evaluates all nominations and selects three inductees each year. Nominations that are not selected are carried over to be considered the following year.

The initial focus is on the earliest pioneers of our community. The LHOFs first three inductees (2009) were Tom of Finland (Touko Laaksonen), the prolific artist whose stylized homoerotic art had a profound effect on gay and leather culture; Chuck Renslow, founder of the Chicagos legendary Gold Coast bar, International Mr. Leather, the Leather Archives & Museum, and dozens of other projects; and artist John Willie, a major figure in the development of the imagery and culture of heterosexual and lesbian BDSM in the mid twentieth century. Learn more about our first three inductees at

The Leather Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies will be held at CLAW 9 at the Wyndham Hotel in Cleveland, OH on Sunday, April 25, 2010. We invite all leather people to join us to celebrate and honor the lives and accomplishments of these great inductees. Find out more and order your tickets now at

For more information about the Leather Hall of Fame, visit

No comments: